Six Cleveland police officers have been fired in connection with a 20-mile car chase in 2012 that ended with officers firing 137 bullets at a car, killing Timothy Russell and Malissa Williams, said Steve Loomis, president of the Cleveland Police Patrolmen’s Association.

He identified the officers as Wilfredo Diaz, Brian Sabolik, Erin O’Donnell, Michael Farley, Chris Ereg and Michael Brelo. Brelo allegedly fired 49 of the shots, including 15 from the hood of the car carrying Russell and Williams. Brelo was acquitted of manslaughter last year.

Get complete coverage of breaking news on CNN TV, and CNN Mobile.

Watch CNN live or On Demand from your computer or mobile device.
Watch live CNN news coverage now at